Young Professionals debate industry issues at CESA YPF Imbizo



The Annual Young Professionals Sustainability Imbizo took place in Midrand, Gauteng on the 14th and15th of August this year. The Imbizo with the theme of ‘Sustaining the Future of Engineering’ provided networking opportunities and engagement that encourages dialogue for Young Consulting Engineering Professionals.

The conference offers a number of benefits to Young Professionals that include: Empowering them with best leadership-experience embracing objectivity, community participation/activisms, professionalism and promotion of engineering principles; Establishing and maintaining organizational structures for YPs to act as role models for school learners and for senior infrastructure/engineering to mentor YPs; Providing solutions to skills development and retention by public sector and private sector.

Amanda Masondo-Mkhize, CESA YPF Chairperson welcomed delegates to the first day of the conference, this was followed by a presentation by Guest Speaker – Renate Landman from The Learning Curve on ‘Loving your life: What is work-life balance and how do you create it’ followed by Neresh Pather, CESA President ‘Engineering the Future I Want!’ Dispute avoidance using standard construction contracts was presented by Uwe Putlitz, CEO of Joint Building Contracts Committee followed by a presentation on Contracts as a dispute avoidance mechanism by Zanele Makamba, Equipoise Corporate and Legal Solutions. Green and Sustainable Design was presented by Asaam Nana Efua Esuon, Constromart Limited followed by Opportunities for Engineering the Green Economy from Jeshika Ramchund, GAMA YPFSC. Lebo Maphumulo, Eskom presented Cost effective methods to counter voltage collapse and stability problems and George Molomo, Department of Public Works presented Implementing green designs. Principles and Morality of Money was presented by Mduduzi Luthuli from Luthuli Capital and the session was closed off by Shilpi Jain, CESA YPF Treasurer.

Day 2 of the YPF Imbizo was kicked of by Programme Director, Yankho Banda, YPF Vice Chairperson this was followed by a presentation by Skhumbuzo Macozoma, CEO of South African National Roads Agency Limited entitled ‘Building Infrastructure for People: Strategic Public Participation’.  Implementing technology in the engineering sector was presented by Keith Katyora, Aurecon, followed by The Fourth Industrial Revolution presented by Prinaven Gounden and Neelam Parbhoo from Knight Piésold. The Empowerment of Locals through the Road Transportation Sector was presented by Tahseen Raiman and Devan Govender, Naidu Consulting followed by Insight into the Engineering of Airports by Ntokozo Mdletshe, Airports Company South Africa. Gender Diversity in the True Sense of Transformation was presented by Jabulile Msiza, CESA Young Engineer of the Year. ProfessorJA Wium, Head of Department, Civil Engineering, Stellenbosch University presented The Future of Public Engineering followed by Identification of work & Fee Guidelines presented by Adv. Pieter Fourie, The Council for the Built Environment (CBE). The presentation and Adoption of Imbizo Resolutions was handled by Sipho Mashiyi, YPF Secretary with The Way forward and Farewell message presented by Christopher Van Wyk, YPF WC Chairperson.

The YPF would like to extend their thanks to the following sponsors who supported the event: Vumesa; JBCC, Mott MacDonald; Royal HaskoningDHV; Nako Iliso; Hatch; cidb; ECSA and VTV.






This publication is an attempt to share information of interest with members and readers. Articles on products and ideas featured in this publication from other sources do not of necessity carry the endorsement of CESA unless explicitly so indicated.

CE-news Contributions
• Email or phone Dennis Ndaba at or 011 463 2022 to contribute news, comment etc.
• Email Wally Mayne at if you work for a member firm and would like to receive a copy of this newsletter direct.
• News of member firms is usually provided by the firms themselves or copied from their newsletters or the media.

Copyright © CESA 2017